Book Review: Angel Unaware

Book Review #1

Angel Unaware: A Touching Story of Love and Loss

Author: Dale Evans Rogers

Beautiful baby girl!

Book Description:  “When entertainers Roy Rogers and Dale Evans Rogers discovered their new baby, Robin, had Down syndrome, they were determined to take her home and give her their love. And somehow during her brief life Robin was helping Roy and Dale draw closer to God and to each other.

Told from Robin’s point of view in heaven, Angel Unaware is a touching story that has inspired millions of readers around the world.” {Amazon.com}

The Good:  The book is under 100 pages and can easily be read within an hour. Certain details in the story give the reader great insight about what life was like for parents of the disabled during the 1950s. Clearly, the Rogers were an amazing family that loved all of their children unconditionally and celebrated Robin wherever they were. She was obviously the light of their life, proven by the tidbits about how much Will Rogers would photograph her and how Dale would interact with her whenever possible.

The Bad:  With Wes being alive {Thank GOD}, I was unable to relate to the loss of a child. Yes, I did go through a form of grief when I first found out that Wes has Down syndrome, but I was very honest with my feelings when I expressed them with others or in writing. This book glosses over the events that happened in the Roger’s two years with Robin as well as the feelings they experienced throughout her short life. I would have expected from a mother who had just lost a child to write a heart wrenching book discussing the highs and occasional lows of motherhood, balancing work with family, and the struggles of staying afloat under so much adversity regarding children with disabilities during the early 1950s. That kind of a book would have received great praise from me since it would touch upon all aspects of being a parent of a child with Down syndrome in that era.

The Ugly:  The story was written by Dale Rogers using her perception of what her daughter would be saying about the events of her life post mortem through dialogue with God. Does that make sense? Yes, quite odd. I couldn’t relate at all. It was strange. I can appreciate a book that has references to faith, but this was just crazy talk in my opinion.

The Critic: Well, out of the 20 reviews on Amazon.com, all reviewers rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.  I don’t know, I just don’t get it.

Side Note: This book was given to us by a wonderful family member, and I truly appreciate the gesture! It just didn’t strike a chord with me unfortunately {fortunately if you think about it (?)}. But, that’s how books go; some love, some hate, some are indifferent. In this case, I was unable to connect. I appreciate the story for the time period it was written in, but I was left wanting more depth to Dale’s true emotions.

Next up: The Shape of the Eyes by George Estreich. A big thank you to Dana Carter for this book.

Leave a Reply

