Biweekly Update: 28 Weeks

Tonight I had one of my many Wes appointments, and I figured I would start updated everyone in an easy to read checklist. I have to admit that I did borrow this from Kristin, who has a wonderful blog at http://www.ourgrowinggarden.com. Thank you so much in advance for your great idea!

How far along? 28 weeks, 5 days

How big is Wes? Unknown, but typical babies are closing in on 15 inches at this point. I’ve been getting a lot of kicks in the center of my belly, so I’m thinking that’s my little man kneeing me.  At last check 2 weeks ago, he was 2.3lbs.

Health of Wes? He’s fantastic! His heart is strong as ever and the doctor was impressed with his kicks. I love how he always moves with gusto. He’s my spicy little chili pepper! {BTW, I totally Googled chili pepper baby costumes and they do exist! I have to get it for Halloween!}

Health of Momma? My uterus is as strong as an ox, blood sugar is excellent, blood pressure is 110/60 however, I am fat as ever! I’ve developed cellulite on my upper arms (huh!?), shelf butt, unrecognizable knees, and cankles. D’ah!!! Oh, and my mind is mush.

Weight gain? In 7 months, I’m now 31lbs heavier. John was kindly cheering me on when I stepped on the scale. Nothing like hearing, “Go, go, go, go!” as I nudge the scale from what used to start at the 100s to the 150s with that little dial smack in the middle. D’oh! Then the jerk tried stepping on the scale himself and I refused to let him. He finds it hysterical that I’m merely pounds from outweighing him! Hahaha!

Maternity clothes update? I ripped my pants. You heard me correctly. I also no longer fit into my maternity smalls {which probably began in December} and the muffin top that was finally pulled from the weight of the belly is back and reappearing over my pants. LOVELY! Also, all of my dresses are jacked up so high now that they’re borderline inappropriate to wear to work. I have resigned myself to wearing glorified yoga pants to work. I’m also weeks away from wearing sandals.

Stretch Marks? None, thankfully! I am now thankful for being a fat teenager and retained that glorious stretchy skin!

Skin? My acne has slowed down, but has not disappeared entirely. It’s still so frustrating!

Sleep? Like a champ again. Actually, I don’t get enough and I may revert to my 3 hour naps after school.

Best moment this week? Finding out that I DO NOT need a second glucose test and my blood sugar is fine. The doctor said that I “aced the test.”
Movement? Jabs into my upper right rib section and head bumps that are rather inconvenient.

Food cravings? PB&J sammies, oatmeal in cold milk (yep, no heating up involved), milk, milk and more milk.

Labor signs? Braxton Hicks occasionally, especially when I walk too fast or for too long. I also started getting lower abdomen cramping occasionally, so hopefully that’s all normal!

Belly button in or out? Flat-ish, but mildly sticks out when I eat too much.

What I miss? Walking and breathing at the same time.

What I am looking forward to? My photo shoot with Erin this weekend! {and, my maternity leave 3/29}

Weekly wisdom? Don’t let stress or work get to you. Also, smart kids are really annoying and full of themselves. I am so happy to have Wes, who is an average kid in my mind/ heart.  I can’t wait to tell Wes, “You is kind, you is smart, you is important.” But, the teacher in me will probably use correct grammar!

Milestones? Third trimester baby!  Starting 2 week appointments!

7 thoughts on “Biweekly Update: 28 Weeks

  1. Melissa says:

    I was laughing at the milk craving! That’s been my big one with this pregnancy too! Can’t wait to hear of your little ones arrival!

  2. Alaina says:

    Congrats on Wes! I can’t wait to follow along on your journey. One funny random fact…Beaus first outfit ever bought was a red chili pepper outfit my mom got for me when we found out we were pregnant. Hope the rest of your pregnancy goes smoothly!!

  3. thosenewmans says:

    Love this! I will definitely be stealing that idea! 😉

  4. tammy updegrove says:

    Loving the updates!!! Wishing I was keeping better track. Enjoy you photo shoot this weekend and don’t forget to post them. 🙂

    • No worries, Tammy. I will definitely be posting those pictures. I am so excited, but I need clothes! I’m getting so big! {I know you know the feeling …} We’re getting there lady!

      • tammy updegrove says:

        Gap maternity clearance and old navy rock for durable, comfy, and reasonably priced clothes…check with any girlfriends who are about your size and have some you could borrow too. My girlfriends were lifesavers with clothes. I did buy 2 nice outfits from a pea in the pod – 1 for our photo shoot and 1 for my surprise shower (I’m pretty certain it is this Sunday).

        Welcome to the third trimester too!!!

Leave a Reply

