Week 34: I’ve reached my limit

How far along? 34 weeks…

How big is Wes? No idea? I entirely forgot to ask. All I know is that last week he was of average weight {51st percentile}, but now he is in the 31st percentile.

Health of Wes? My boy is doing pretty well. This NST was much more successful than the last one, and this had a little to do with me. To get him active, I ate probably half of a bag of Craisins and drank an entire bottle of water before going in for my appointment. My NST went from over an hour to just a half hour this time. Pfew! The doctor said that he was sleepy in the beginning of the test, but then he became more active the second half. I would contribute that to sugar, cold water, and momma stirring him up by elevating my legs.

Health of Momma? BP 100/70, weight is on track – even better than last week. Emotionally, I’m a wreck. I just can’t take these hormonal swings anymore. Physically, my energy comes in spurts. When I wake up and get ready for work, I’m okay. By the time I arrive at work I can barely walk – I’m exhausted and uncomfortable. An hour later, I gain a spurt of energy for about 3-4 hours. Of course being me, I take that energy and run with it. I hate being immobile, so I work my behind off as long as I can. By the end of the day, I’m absolutely spent – physically and mentally. By the time I get home, I’m on the couch sleeping. When I wake up 2 hours later, I can’t move. It’s a vicious cycle.

Because of my emotional, physical, and metal limitations, I have decided to take my maternity leave 2 weeks early. I feel like such a wimp, but my doctor assured me that I’m not. Being from Germany, she said that women start maternity leave at 28 weeks and they are PAID. Wow, since when is the United States a third-world country? What is it about this country that we feel guilty for taking time off for ourselves? I wish that as a culture we took more pride in quality of life over work, work, work.

Weight gain? So, I went from 184 last week to 181 this week {doctor’s scale}. This means I’m probably 176 on my scale, which of course is the weight I will be going by in my mind. I can’t believe how much I’ve just plateaued over the past month. I’m just waiting for the fecal matter to hit the fan.

Maternity clothes update? Since I will be home from now on, I no longer feel the need to worry about well fitting clothing. Well, I say this now; this is only the beginning of my maternity leave, AKA the first day!

Stretch Marks? No stretch marks at all.

Skin? Back still looks terrible, but I’m starting to just deal with it.

Sleep? I can’t really sleep through the night anymore. It’s tough because I’m exhausted. Like seriously exhausted, but my body just won’t relax. The culprit could potentially be subconscious stress. I really have nothing to stress about, but I do feel stressed. I blame it on the pregnancy hormones.

Best moment this week? This great 65-75 degree weather and sunshine has been a big help with not sending me too far over the edge.

Movement? He’s a mover and a shaker. Little man dropped today, so now my hips are more sore and my poor ribs are getting a beating.

Food cravings? Anything cold and dairy… Rita’s {sugar free/ fat free} gilati, Wawa cookies and cream milkshakes,& strawberry and banana smoothies, Dairy Queen Oreo Blizzards, and bagels with cream cheese… tons of cream cheese!  Ooh, and cereal.  Got to have my milk products!

Labor signs? Occasional pangs, but it’s normal at this stage. There’s nothing rhythmic or concerning.

Belly button in or out? Belly button is A-Ok.

What I miss? My sanity. My motivation. My energy. My ability to sleep.

What I am looking forward to? Dinner at Maggiano’s to celebrate my mom’s birthday on Saturday.

Weekly wisdom? Feeling okay to say, “I’m done.” That was my quote of the day because it’s me just being plain honest. I really can’t handle work anymore, and the work load is very little. It’s hard to not feel guilty, but it is what it is.

Milestones? 6 weeks until my boy is here.

Leave a Reply

