Read ASAP: Nap Nanny Hazards

Hello all!

Within the past 24 hours I have been contacted by both the creator of Nap Nanny, Leslie Gudel, and the lawyer for the family who lost their 4 month old baby due to the hazards of having the Nap Nanny in the crib. These emails were in response to my {now deleted} post on “Banned from the bedroom”.

First of all, I just wanted to say “wow” because I had no idea of the reach of this blog, but I am entirely grateful for the clarification from Leslie Gudel and I never want to spread false information. I know that though I have a small audience, it’s important to be responsible in what information is shared over the internet, whether it be explicit or implied.

To clarify, after I received the email from Leslie Gudel, I spoke with other mothers about her letter. To my surprise, I was unaware of the dangers of having the Nap Nanny in the crib and how a baby, even under the age of 5 months, can “fall out” of the Nap Nanny and become lodged between the side of the crib and the Nap Nanny, thus potentially resulting in suffocation. Unfortunately, this happened to a family in 2010 {I believe, clarification is welcome} and they tragically lost their child. As a new mom, I had no idea of this happening even though it was just two years ago. I cannot fathom the thought of losing a baby, especially when you believe that you are doing your best to keep your child safe.

My heart goes out to this family, and my goal in writing this clarification post is to put this family at ease that faulty information will no longer be available to my readers since I will be deleting it tonight.

My use of the Nap Nanny in the crib came out of my own fear of my child turning over due to his activity. As you can see, I have a net and a mesh bumper on the crib to reduce suffocation. So, after being educated on the hazards of having the Nap Nanny in the crib, the Nap Nanny has been taken out; last night in fact. Wes was swaddled tight and we put on the AngelCare movement monitor. The monitor went off in the night which scared the life out of us, but we just need to adjust the sensitivity of it. However, it DID make Wes wake up since it shut off immediately. I would suggest this product to use and not the Nap Nanny in the crib. If you believe otherwise regarding this monitor, I am once again open for clarification. I am a person who is able to be corrected and educated when I am in the wrong.

The Nap Nanny should be used as intended; with close monitoring while your child in napping, keeping the Nap Nanny on the floor. In fact, I used it today while getting ready. Wes was right next to me, on the floor snoozing away. He was under close supervision and safe.

Again, please do not put a Nap Nanny in your baby’s crib.

I have nothing but sympathy for this family’s loss. I am welcoming the family to send me their story if it is something they feel important to share.

Wes is my life; I don’t know what I’d do without him.

Below is the letter from Leslie Gudel:

Hi Adrienne,

Your blog was sent along to us here at Nap Nanny earlier today. We are so thankful to hear that your beautiful son is finding comfort in the Nap Nanny. You’re on a journey that is inspiring and your positive attitude will no doubt resonate with other mothers of babies with downs syndrome. I have a friend with a daughter who has downs syndrome and not a day goes by that she doesn’t tell me a story about her daughter’s amazing capacity to love and see the world in a more positive and loving way than we could ever imagine.

I am a mother of two children of my own. When I invented the Nap Nanny I had great visions of helping babies (and their parents) get more sleep. Along with that vision is a passion for safety. At Nap Nanny we recommend the Nap Nanny for floor use only and tell everyone it should only be used on the floor, never in a crib. We also recommend not using any loose blankets while using the Nap Nanny. Forgive me if this is intrusive, but I just felt I needed to tell you that to help keep your baby safe.

Enjoy your journey through motherhood. It goes by fast. And by the way, I had the same dream about my baby and that she was in the bed with us stuck under the covers. That dream is part of what led to the invention of the Nap Nanny.

Take care,
Leslie Gudel

3 thoughts on “Read ASAP: Nap Nanny Hazards

  1. Tara says:

    Does the packaging say NOT to use it in a crib? Just wondering.

    • On the NN there’s a big warning that I clearly (unintentionally) ignored. The old NN were recalled bc there weren’t warnings. I was told (by the family’s lawyer) that the product didn’t change design. I really think there should be shoulder straps for LOs, but for my current supervised us, it works fine. I love my NN, but now I know better than to leave Wes unattended in it.

      • Tara says:

        Okay. That just freaks me out anyway. I’m sure it does you too. I’m gonna have to go see what that is anyway. It’s obviously after my baby birthing days…but then I will have grandkids one day too.

Leave a Reply

